We've presented awards to the best innovators of 2021

08. 04. 2022

The theme of this year's award ceremony was very topical: sustainable development.

We've presented awards to the best innovators of 2021

We also bore sustainable development in mind when selecting the guest of honour for the event: Prof. Adriana Rejc Buhovac. Working with Buhovac has been very pleasant and efficient, because we share the same values and views on our company's sustainable development.

The result of sustainable development is a society that reflects respect for others in the sense of acknowledging differences and diversity, and respect for natural resources; a society that meets all its needs without compromising the development and growth of others. Is this also the story of Domel? All the award winners prove it is through their work.

Every year, we also use the award ceremony to commemorate an important anniversary. This year we celebrated the 30th anniversary of producing EC motors. Thirty years ago we began producing EC vacuum units, but today we're also producing a wide range of motors in addition to these.

There's another important milestone we should mention: just this past week we recorded 150 million vacuum units produced.

On this occasion, we presented:

  • Ten bronze innovation awards to: Aleksander Pirih, Andraž Rant, Danijel Bajrektarević, Elizabeta Thaler, Franc Repnik, Gašper Tolar, Igor Demšar, Matej Bevk, Nejc Černilogar and Rok Vrhunc;
  • Nine silver innovation awards to: Borut Fejfar, Darja Strnad Martinčič, Gregor Vidmar, Igor Prezelj, Janez Marguč, Klemen Polak, Marko Mlakar, Tilen Vrhunc and Rok Dobravec;
  • An innovation mentor award to: Vili Logonder;
  • An award for the largest number of innovation proposals submitted to: Rok Dobravec;
  • An award recognising Domel's values of responsibility and concern for employees to: Alenka Katrašnik;
  • A quality award to: Tomaž Furlan;
  • An award to the development team for the professional innovation of a universal single-station rotor balancing machine;
  • An award for implementing the TPM method to the series of turbine wheels from Reteče.

This year's gold winner is Miha Kržišnik, from the electronics development department at the EC Systems business unit. He has proposed many innovative solutions over the past fifteen years of working for the company. Miha regularly proposes improvements that exceed his supervisors' expectations, offer new sales opportunities and improve our products.

Our goals are clear, and all employees work together to raise the innovation culture at our company. These awards prove that we develop sustainable solutions, and that we can do even better!

More Domel insights:

Presentation of the Laboratory Equipment program at the Arab Health 2024 exhibition
Presentation of the Laboratory Equipment program at the Arab Health 2024 exhibition

Once again, this year, as part of the collective representation of Slovenian companies, we showcased our products at the Arab Health exhibition in Dubai.

Read article
Introducing EC Systems
Introducing EC Systems

EC Systems, a business unit operating independently since 1998 under the able leadership of Mr Lojze Demšar, stands out as one of the most successful units within the Domel company. EC Systems manages its own sales, development, technology and quality control, while central services like planning, procurement and logistics support them.   Team and Work Environment Currently, around 70 dedicated employees are involved in EC Systems’ programmes, primarily hailing from the Selška Dolina region and the vicinity of Škofja Loka. They operate cohesively as a team, conducting regular monthly programme meetings and weekly troubleshooting sessions. The department maintains a seamless flow of information, fostering a productive working atmosphere. At the end of each year, the sales, development and production leaders present the results of the past year and outline plans for the upcoming year to all employees, including production workers. This inclusive approach ensures that everyone understands their roles and contributions. Additionally, the team comes together twice a year for a summer picnic and a pre-New Year celebration. In the winter, some colleagues even gather for Tuesday evening football matches, strengthening their bonds outside of work.   Applications EC Systems predominantly specializes in fume extraction systems , followed by industrial vacuum cleaners, fuel cells, washing disinfectors and printing machines. Over the last three years, they have actively engaged in hydrogen technology, offering comprehensive solutions for air supply and pumps for hydrogen recirculation. This commitment aligns with their efforts to contribute to a greener future by reducing carbon footprints and preserving the environment for future generations.     Major Markets In 2023, the largest markets for EC Systems are:     Products EC blowers find applications wherever: a) long lifetime is essential, with their minimum expected operational time of 20,000 hours;   b) where the absence of brush dust is required, unlike traditional vacuum units; c) precision control is required. The EC blower&pump product range covers various voltages (low voltage, high voltage, DC and AC), with blowers ranging up to 2,500W in power. A global EC blower has been introduced operating at 100–240V, along with CAN communication capabilities for seamless integration with other systems. Innovations EC Systems actively fosters innovation, generating numerous proposals, some of which have received awards. Notably, two Gold Award recipients hail from this business unit. Business Facilities Since July 2020, a new expansion has been in place to accommodate increased production needs. Production EC Systems establish a flexible medium-volume production approach, enabling the assembly of various products within a single shift. Since 2014, they’ve operated on two shifts. This year is expected to see a production increase of approximately 10%. They produce over 300 different blower concepts, necessitating an exceptionally flexible production process.   Sales and Development Regular market trend monitoring guides EC Systems’ sales strategy, with a focus on identifying market needs before embarking on new product development. They currently serve over 250 different customers. All aspects of product development, including electronics and motor development, are carried out in-house. The development encompasses mechanical, electrical and software aspects.

Read article